“I don’t know about art/but I know what I like”

–The Cramps

Here’s a look at two of its three art museums: The Hiroshima Museum of Art and the Hiroshima Prefectural Art Museum. (The third is the Hiroshima Museum of Contemporary Art, but I couldn’t make it there in time.)

Hiroshima Museum of Art

Located near the Hiroshima Castle and a large shopping complex, this museum features plenty of old masters from Europe. I admit to having near-zero knowledge of European art or its artists, but I did enjoy viewing the paintings. I can’t comment on them, but here’s my favorite artwork has to be this one, Vittorio Matteo Corcos’s “Farewell”:

“Farewell”

Seeing it on the screen can’t do it justice. I’d come down the stairs, turned, and was taken aback by the piece’s photorealism. The level of detail and the colors! And the title of “Farewell”–how fitting, I thought, having just left Korea a week before.

Hiroshima Prefectural Art Museum

I spent more time here because this museum features Japanese artists and more modern pieces. I tried finding pictures of some of the pieces I saw just now to no avail. This is unfortunate, because without the photos, I can’t tell you too much about them, for all I did was write down the artist and the title. I did get to take photos of several works because the signs said photos were okay though:

DSC00006 DSC00007 DSC00010 DSC00011

